Posted in Miscellaneous

A Good Read-Aloud

I have always had a love for children’s literature, but I found an even greater love for it as I read aloud to students almost every day during practicum. It was a delight for me, and it had students totally captivated! It is so enjoyable for all students, and it is so good for students to have a model for reading. Even though at first it might mean tediously sounding out letters in each word, the students can see that reading is the key that unlocks the magic of a captivating read-aloud.

During practicum, my mentor teacher handed me a book titled The Book with No Pictures, by B.J. Novak, to read to the class during read-aloud time. The students had never read it before, and neither had I! Boy were we in for a surprise! This book is very silly! I have never heard a class of students laugh so hard in my life. They appreciated my willingness to be vulnerable and goofy with them. On the last day of practicum, this is the moment that they remembered the most and thanked me for.

I bet you remember a book that was read aloud to you as a child. I remember countless books that my mom read to me in our home. I also remember that in third grade, Mrs. Kelly read The Boxcar Children to us aloud. She certainly got me hooked on that series! I still have a clear vision in my mind of what the Alden’s boxcar looked like, and especially who Benny and Violet became, in my imagination.

Some of my favorite books to read aloud include…

  • Ruby the Copycat, by Peggy Rathmann
  • Officer Buckle and Gloria, by Peggy Rathmann
  • The Book with No Pictures, by B.J. Novak
  • You are Special, by Max Lucado
  • Miss Nelson is Missing, by Harry Allard
  • Miss Malarkey Doesn’t Live in Room 10, by Judy Finchler
  • The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear, by Don Wood
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar, by Eric Carle

What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

