Posted in Miscellaneous

Practicum Pep Talk

Have you ever found a talk, article, or devotional that you just couldn’t keep to yourself; you had to share it with everyone? That happened to me this week. It was a TED talk by Rita Pierson. It felt like a great pep talk as many of us enter another crazy week of practicum. Check it out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFnMTHhKdkw

There are five important lessons in it that stood out to me:

“Kids don’t learn from people they don’t like”

I reflected on my favorite elementary school teachers and realized it really was the relationships I built with them that made me remember them the most. I remember the way I felt in their classrooms. Like Rita Pierson mentioned, I consequently remember specific things that they taught me. In 3rd grade, Ms. Kelly taught us about simple machines, prairie life and division. In one of my textbooks, titled Seven Simple Secrets: What the BEST Teachers Know and Do!, a teacher said,  “I know that when a student feels like he’s special to me, then he’s much more likely to behave, to do his work, and to enjoy learning, then there’s practically nothing I can’t teach him. So if I want all my students to behave, do their work, and enjoy learning, I’ve simply got no choice but to make them all feel like they’re special to me”. Our relationships with our students are so vital, so as you interact with your class this week, keep that in mind!

“You were so excited, we just let you go”

Rita was so excited about teaching the subject material that the kids were merciful when she didn’t even teach it right! Excitement can make the biggest difference! It’s contagious too!

“Plus two, not minus 18”

That student’s thoughts went from “I failed…” to “I am on a roll! I got two right! I’m bound to get more right next time!”. We can help students see the glass half full, rather than half empty.

“Your toughest kids are never absent!”

That’s good! They need the connections and relationships at school that you help them develop.

“Every child deserves a champion, an adult who will never give up on them”

We need to insist that they become the best that they can be. When you get a glimpse of their potential, run with it!

Leave a Reply

