Posted in Miscellaneous

The Perfect Way to Teach

Abigail_Smith_Adams_by_Gilbert_Stuart

By: Annie Day

Feminism has become an important topic in both education and politics. Although I do not necessarily agree with many of the ideas espoused by feminists, I am an advocate of the importance of the female mind. Because of that simple belief, I would like to take some time and discuss a powerful woman and the sweet and simple lessons we can attain through her words. Abigail Adams stands as one of the most of the influential women in American history. In her lifetime she endured almost unimaginable trials. Her faith in the importance of the cause of freedom stands throughout her continued support to her husband as president, and throughout the American Revolution. With this in mind I would like to discuss one of her quotes that stands out to me as one of her defining characteristics. Abigail Adams wrote, “We have too many high sounding words and too few actions to correspond with them.”  Abigail Adams was not a bystander throughout her lifetime; instead she wanted to make a difference day by day by applying her knowledge and beliefs to influence change.

As a student of education I have listened to countless discussions about the “perfect” way to teach. With idyllic thoughts and ideas, many students in my class mean well as they struggle to find their own perfect methods. The problem that I have witnessed, and like Abigail Adams discussed, is that too often individuals spend far too long reaching a perfect concept or standard before applying their ideas. In no way am I saying that learning about correct teaching techniques is an improper use of time–I believe that it is equally important as applying the ideas in a classroom setting.  Too many times in my brief teaching experience I have planned what I thought was the perfect lesson only to have the students show me the true nature of my high sounding words. Teaching is not about the perfect lesson plan; instead teaching takes understanding, practice, and countless mistakes before perfection can be attained. As students of education, let’s apply our thoughts and beliefs into actual classroom settings.

Leave a Reply

