Posted in Miscellaneous

Substitute Teaching

Big subs

Throughout the month of May, I was able to be a substitute teacher. Going into it I thought, “How hard could this be?” Let’s be real though, being a substitute teacher is exhausting, and in my opinion, harder than being the actual teacher. If there is one thing I wish I had been taught a lot better throughout my elementary education courses, it would be classroom management. Students will take advantage of you and push your buttons. The key is to set your expectations from the very beginning of the day. Trying to use the management system that the teacher already has in place is the best. Even then, students will try to walk right over you. Don’t get me wrong, subbing has been one of the best experiences I have had to prepare me for teaching.

​Here are some tricks and tips for subbing that I picked up along the way:
​- Don’t forget to tell your students your name.
​​- Try and get to know each student’s name in the class.
​- Set your expectations at the very beginning.
​​- Always have a few games in mind to fill time.
​- Get to know the other teachers and staff at the school.
​- Be flexible!
Leave a Reply

