Posted in Elementary Education Preparation

Dare to Teach

When I became a student at BYU, I was dumbfounded by the endless possibilities of my future. Suddenly I had to pick my profession now that I was “grown-up.” The problem was that I still felt like the same little kid who wanted to be an archeologist just so that she could spend all day in the dirt. As I sat and thought about my passions and interests, I created a list of endless possibilities ranging from Supreme Court Justice to an artist. But as I researched further, I came to an interesting conclusion. At the base of all my dreams and passions, my greatest motivation, was service. I needed a major where I could work to better the lives of those around me. Almost three years later, I am now here, blessed to be a part of the McKay School of Education.

Some may see teaching as babysitting, where you wipe boogers, and tears, while not getting paid enough. Although I am sure I will see my fair share of boogers and tears in the coming years, teaching is far more than babysitting. President Monson said: 

“The teacher not only shapes the expectations and ambitions of her pupils, but she also influences their attitudes toward their future and themselves. If she is unskilled, she leaves scars on the lives of youth, cuts deeply into their self-esteem, and distorts their image of themselves as human beings. But if she loves her students and has high expectations of them, their self-confidence will grow, their capabilities will develop, and their future will be assured.” (President Monson “Only a Teacher” Jan. 1990)

Teaching is not for the faint of heart, but for those who dare to serve and want to change the world through the minds of those they teach. What kind of teacher will I be? Will I motivate my students to gain a love of learning or will I destroy their self-esteem through my incompetence? The work we perform in the classroom has lasting effects. What will your legacy be?

Leave a Reply

