Posted in Miscellaneous

Brave New World

This is my last week as a student at BYU. No, I don’t graduate until April, but this marks the last week of attending classes at BYU. Starting in January, I’ll be teaching my own classes at a nearby middle school, trying to inspire preteen minds the way I’ve been inspired by so many teachers and peers here at BYU. It’s exciting and nerve-wracking, wonderful and scary all at the same time. I’ll be sad to no longer be on campus every day, but I know that I will always remember the time I spent here. Here are a few of the important lessons that have stayed with me while learning how to be a teacher:

  • Planning is important. It also takes a lot more time than you think it will, especially at first. Planning a good lesson doesn’t always guarantee success, but you’ll feel so much more prepared to tackle anything that happens during the school day.

  • Classroom management is more than discipline. It means having clear expectations and holding students to a higher standard. A large chunk of management is simply prevention.

  • Teaching is constantly evolving, and it’s important to keep up. This can include staying up to speed on the latest technology or becoming part of a teacher’s organization to learn how to teach better. Even following blogs like this one can help you get new ideas on how to improve your classroom.

  • Being a good teacher is more than just giving tests and homework. Being a good teacher is about developing relationships with your students and seeing them as their own little people.

  • Christ is the ultimate teacher. He knew and loved His students and exactly what they needed to be taught. He never gives up on His students and is always willing to help those who ask for it. He has almost impossibly high expectations, but He also is there for us every step of the way.

  • Teaching is hard. Teaching is rewarding. I don’t think any of us thought we were just taking an easy route when we signed up to be teachers, but I think we knew that we wanted to make a difference.


And with these words, I go out into the real world, hoping that I can be that difference.

Leave a Reply

