Posted in Miscellaneous

Building a Classroom Library

In all of my classes, I have learned the importance of making literacy a focus in the classroom. I have learned about how vital a classroom library is because it shows students that reading is valued in your classroom. However, how can a new teacher not break the bank trying to build a class library? As I have pondered starting my future classroom, I have been curious about this and decided to research what people were saying on the Internet about where to start buying and accumulating books for the classroom library. Below I have listed a few resources.

Image

  • www.paperbackswap.com: This website allows you to swap books with others by giving you credits to use when someone buys from you.

  • www.amazon.com: There are so many one cent books on Amazon, but you have to pay the $4 for shipping. However, if there is a specific book you are looking for, I think Amazon is a great resource!

  • Garage/yard sales: For me, these can go either way. Sometimes you wake up early to go but find  nothing of value. On the other hand, if you’re lucky they are great places to find some real treasures.

  • Thrift stores: Again, thrift stores, like yard sales, are like shopping in the unknown. But, they might be worth going to every once in awhile to see if they have anything you want.

  • www.bookcloseouts.com: This website is great because they have a lot of ways you can search for the books you want. They even have a “less than a dollar” category.

  • http://clubs.scholastic.com/about/index.shtml: I am still not super familiar with how Scholastic works but from what I can gather, each book purchased helps the teacher earn points which they can use in future purchases towards more books. They also have $1 books.

  • Festivals: My mother-in-law just volunteered at a festival where they were selling new books for $1! So, it is always good to look out for any local events that might have deals.

I am sure there are many more resources out there but this is what I could find through my research that I felt had the best deals! A classroom library seems like a staple in modern classrooms so hopefully these resources can help new and experienced teachers build their library!
Do you know of any other resources teachers can use as they build their classroom library?

– Mandy Dimmick

One thought on “Building a Classroom Library

  1. In terms of thrift stores, I’ve found a lot of great stuff at DI right after school gets out in the summer. Also (if you’re still living in Provo), go to thrift stores in different cities. I bought books for 50 cents at the DI in Salt Lake City!
    With Scholastic, for your orders, you get a certain amount of points to get books. I got a ton that way my first year. Also, if another teacher refers you, you both get points. They were also having a new member promotion a while back where you got book certificates as a thank you for joining.
    You can also trade your books with other teachers to get a variety going through.
    Make friends with teachers that are retiring and they might give you their books or sell them to you cheap. Also check KSL or craigslist.
    In other states, there’s a store called “Half Price Books.” They sell tons of children’s books for about half the price of major bookstores (pretty comparable to the Amazon 1 cent prices after adding in shipping).

Leave a Reply

