Posted in Miscellaneous

The Mystery of EIME Revealed

I’ve worked as the Program Coordinator for the Educational Inquiry, Measurement and Evaluation program for about a year now. My uncle, TJ Bliss (who just graduated from the program two weeks ago), introduced me to the program when the position opened up. I can’t believe it’s already been a year since I started working with this incredible program. I’ve been so impressed with the caliber of students, the passion they put into their research, and the extraordinary results their hard work earns them.

When I started working with EIME, their admissions process for the 2012-2013 school year was just wrapping up and final decisions were being made. I was informed of the requirements for admission, but otherwise my involvement with this process was minimal- I learned the new admittees ‘ names and their needs that should be met before August. I worked with those five new students and learned about the program with them for the first few months. I quickly learned how important it is to find a perfect match when searching for graduate school; each of these students is unique, and all come from different backgrounds, but each fits perfectly into the EIME program. Newer students work with older students on research projects, homework assignments and even understanding questions asked in class. Each student has their own objectives and research subjects, so these topics vary widely across the program. Research methods, however, can be applied to any number of different fields so it works for students to collaborate on projects. Collaboration on research projects turns into friendships and collaborations on anything else- party ideas, family event plans, and really anything you can think of. It’s a small family in EIME!

Image

To help orient students and give them a concept of what they will do with their education after graduation, weekly seminars are held for new students. The speakers at these seminars come from any of three categories: students who are further along in their program, professors from the program, and other guests from fields who explain potential career opportunities for EIME students. I have been absolutely fascinated to learn from each one of these seminars. I’m about to graduate with my bachelors degree in Public Health, and I didn’t anticipate any sort of crossover from my field of study to their field of study.  But I have learned so much, and I’m not even a student in this program! I was most interested in a seminar given by the director of research at the MTC- he was heavily involved with research on missionary age and the evidence that went into making this decision. He worked in tandem with one of the EIME students who has done incredible work on language acquisition, and now that she has graduated, she works for the MTC.

I’ve found that I’m so proud of these students, and I have very little to do with their actual education! It has been incredible to work with such talented individuals, and I love being part of this program.

To learn more about BYU’s EIME program visit education.byu.edu/eime/.

Alyssa Lindström, a senior in Public Health, works as the program manager for the EIME program. She grew up in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, and when she’s not daydreaming about the beach, you can find her involved in music, longboarding, doodling, jump rope, and promoting non-profit organizations. 
Leave a Reply

