Posted in Miscellaneous

Thankful

“Happiness is a thankful heart.”

I grew up with that saying and have come to love and believe it wholeheartedly.  I find myself making mental lists of things I’m grateful for when I feel down.  In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’d like to share with you part of my ever-growing list.

  • dishwashers
  • chocolate (especially the kind I don’t have to buy because my friends love me and know what I “need”)
  • sweet potatoes (and a roommate who likes to cook and eat them with me)
  • my little sisters—the 19 year-old who makes me dinner sometimes when I have crazy days and the 2 year-old who gives the best hugs and says, “I love you three!” after I say, “I love you, too!”
  • my little brothers who insist on giving me triple hugs every time I say goodbye even though they know they’ll see me again within the week
  • my friends who always make me laugh and feel loved
  • evening walks that are just chilly enough to be perfect
  • the anticipation of Thanksgiving dinner
  • phone conversations with dear friends where you can pick up where you left off without skipping a beat even though it’s been awhile
  • knee socks (and clothes in general)
  • sunshine
  • pancakes, especially with chocolate chips (and, you know, food in general…)
  • school—despite the craziness, I still love studying what I love with people I love.  (How many people get to take all their classes with their best friends? There are serious perks of being in a tiny program.)
  • music!  Choral music, instrumental music, art music, folk music, radio music (sometimes), Christmas music, my little elementary schoolers singing Thanksgiving songs, the BYU choirs rehearsals and the way music soothes my soul
  • Jamba Juice reunions with my cousins
  • my cell phone
  • memories of places seen and lessons learned (specifically Jerusalem)
  • impromptu cleaning parties with myself  and…
  • the ensuing feeling of accomplishment as I revel in my sparkling apartment
  • prayer
  • truth and ways of learning it
  • times I get to talk with my mom
  • days when choir is my only class
  • random cheerful people who smile at me on campus
  • good books that make me think and leave me fulfilled

I could go on; we all could.  If you need a happiness boost amidst the sometimes hectic bustle of holiday cheer, take a minute to create and concrete your list.  In the words of Josh Groban, “And even though we all can still do more, there’s so much to be thankful for.”

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  (Emphasis on the happy. ; ))

Author:

I love to write. I love to teach. I get to write about teaching. Lucky me.

Leave a Reply

