Posted in Miscellaneous

Finding Joy

Even though I feel that I have learned a lot this semester, I have had a hard time thinking of a topic to write about. But when I thought about it, I realized I needed a little encouragement to push through the end of the semester because I feel that this portion of the semester drags on a bit. So I figured I would focus this post on some words of encouragement for the final stretch of school ahead of us.

“Adversity has the effect of eliciting talents which, in prosperous circumstances, would have lain dormant.” -Horace

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.” -Albert Camus

“The greatest mistake a man can ever make is to be afraid of making one.” -Elbert Hubbard

“There is more to life than increasing its speed.” -Mahatma Gandhi

“Happiness depends upon ourselves.” -Aristotle

“Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.” -Guillaume Apollinaire

“The best way out is always through.” -Robert Frost

I love all of these quotations because they help me to be positive and see the good in the trials that come toward the end of the semester. Although I find these quotations extremely helpful, I find President Dieter F. Uchtdorf’s words from the October General Conference the best advice. The link to the talk is listed here: http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/of-regrets-and-resolutions?lang=eng

President Uchtdorf talks about regrets and about living with no regrets and being happy. The whole talk is very good but my favorite quote is:
“So often we get caught up in the illusion that there is something just beyond our reach that would bring us happiness: a better family situation, a better financial situation, or the end of a challenging trial.
The older we get, the more we look back and realize that external circumstances don’t really matter or determine our happiness.
We do matter. We determine our happiness.”

I think that in this time of the semester, it is easy to get down on ourselves and become overloaded with stress but these great quotations help us to remember what’s important and to find joy in the journey.

Leave a Reply

