Posted in Miscellaneous

My Favorite Picture Books

During the past couple semesters in the Elementary Education Program, I have realized that the further I get into the program, the more I enjoy the activities I loved as a child. One of these activities includes reading children’s books. For this post I wanted to pay homage in a way to my favorite picture books I loved as a child, and then also point out a series of picture books I have more recently found and love. You may recognize some of these books and others you may not, but I love them all!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Make_Way_for_Ducklings

My first favorite picture book is probably one most of you recognize. It is titled Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey. I love this book for the sentimental reason that my grandma gave it to me and would read it to me, and also because I loved the storyline and pictures. The story follows Mr. and Mrs. Mallard in their struggles to find a home for their newborn ducklings.  After flying over almost all of Boston, they finally find a safe place to raise their family. This happy book is such a classic that every child should have it read to them at least once.

http://www.bookcrossing.com/journal/6941421

My next favorite picture book is Purple, Green, and Yellow written by Robert Munsch and illustrated by Hélène Desputeaux. I loved this book as a child and I now love to read it to my 4-year-old younger brother who loves it as well. This book is a lot fun and follows the main character, Brigid, through her creative journey of loving markers and then coloring on herself with her “super-indelible-never-come-off-til-you’re- dead-and-maybe-even-later” coloring markings. After doing this she has to see the doctor and ends up having to recolor herself her normal colors. For me, this book is one of the classics that I will always enjoy.

http://movingmommy.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/147/

Some of my new favorite picture books are the “Fancy Nancy” books. These books are perfect for any girl (especially girly girls) because the wording is filled with frill and fun. However, it is not just the words that are descriptive and fun; the pictures are also laced with detail, sparkle and extravagance. Overall, these books are enjoyable to look at.

I know that everyone has their own favorite picture books, but in my mind these are the ones I will always love and enjoy. These are also the books that I will have in my home for my children to read, and I will definitely make them a part of my classroom library. As future teachers, it is important to know about different books so we can suggest enjoyable books for our students to read. If the students enjoy reading while they are young, they are more likely to enjoy reading when they are older.

Leave a Reply

