Posted in Miscellaneous

A Changed Perspective

Today was the last day of school for the students at Kinsner Elementary School, my childhood school. My little sister forgot her teacher’s gift at home, so I went up to the school to bring it to her. It was different walking down the halls of my elementary school, coming back as a sophomore in college. I remember walking down those halls in single-file lines. I saw teachers that I had about seven years ago. In 1998, the year that school opened, I was in kindergarten. I was in the first graduating class of that school. Now, I’m looking at it from the perspective of a future teacher. I saw the “behind the scenes.” I saw the buses come at 3:15. I saw the principal and his walkie-talkie. I saw the bathrooms that used to be SO big, and now the countertop with the sinks reach my knee. Not only have I grown, but I’ve experienced so much more in my life!

Now I can envision myself teaching at this school. I can picture my own classroom with a vinyl “Classroom, Sweet Classroom” sign on the window, just like my 3rd grade teacher’s room had. “Miss Hinckley”- I can just see it outside the classroom on the name plaque. I am so excited. I love these moments when I get a glimpse into what it will be like to be a teacher. It’s going to be GREAT! Have you had any experiences that helped you to envision yourself in your own classroom and have made you completely excited to be a teacher?

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

