Posted in Miscellaneous

Getting on a Schedule

Recently I had the opportunity to spend a week in the Bahamas. It was such a relaxing vacation and it was neat to experience the island lifestyle. This way of life entails never being in a hurry and it was very nice for a vacation, but I must say that I was excited to get back to the real world and on a schedule. Creating to-do lists and having a schedule to follow cuts back on time that could be wasted. It also allows for more productivity and time for the activities that I really want to do.

 I am a big proponent of to-do lists. In the summer time I do not make them often because I don’t feel as swamped with work and school. However, I do still make them on occasion. It is so helpful to see all of the things that I need to do so that I don’t forget anything important such as my trip to the grocery store or paying my rent check. These lists also bring a great sense of accomplishment because I always reward myself after I have checked something off the list. This usually is a snack due to my passion for food.  I think that developing this habit now will help me as a teacher because teachers, especially in the first few years, are extremely busy with making and tweaking lesson plans along with grading and finding the best way to help the students in the classroom.
Going along with creating and following to-do lists, I like to keep an updated calendar. I have tried using the calendar on my phone but I guess I am old fashioned because I like to use a planner instead. No, I am not one of those people who carries a planner around all of the time, but I do carry my planner with me when I go to school. I find this calendar helpful because I see what I need to do that day. I can also view the week and month ahead which helps me to prepare better. I used to be a big procrastinator and maybe I still am a little bit but using a planner has helped me start projects ahead of time and sometimes even finish a big project weeks before it is due. I feel that this skill and habit is beneficial when teaching because I will need to know when meetings so I can schedule my remaining activities around that.
I personally have been able to see the benefits of being on a schedule in my life because I have found that I have so much more time than I could have ever imagined to do the activities that I want to do. I have been able to cut back on the time that I was previously wasting and have been able to have large blocks of time where I can go out and have stress-free fun. Every person wants to have time to do something they enjoy, and while I know I will like teaching, I will also enjoy that time that I can schedule to do something for me. When I played lacrosse in high school we had team shirts that had a quote by Aristotle on the back that said:

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.”

The habits we begin to make now will be the ones that will continue to shape our lives. I believe scheduling will be a habit that will inspire better teaching and a more well-rounded life.

Leave a Reply

