Posted in Miscellaneous

Mother’s Day

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day. I know that some of us may not have been able to be with our mothers and some women may not be mothers yet, but that’s okay!

This mother’s day I had the opportunity to be with my mom and both of my grandmas. This is a picture of me, my mom, and my sisters.

I was thinking about mothers on Sunday. Mothers have a lot of different roles: nurturer, chauffeur, cook, but ultimately, teacher. I know that my mom has taught me so much. I certainly know that my first year of college wouldn’t have been the same without all of the things that I have learned from my mother. Some of us may have even learned some excellent techniques from our mothers that we can use in our future classroom.

One thing that I know my mom does is that she always focuses on the positive. If one of us kids wasn’t succeeding at something, she would point out what we did well. Instead of focusing on the bad, she always brought out the good. This is important in a classroom because sometimes children can get discouraged easily. As you point out the good, they have something to be proud of. The second thing that my mom always does is remind us how much she loves us. In a classroom, we need to let our students know how much they they matter and how much we care about them. As students realize how much we care about them we create better relationships with them and they might even strive to better in school because of that.

I want to challenge you to think about your mother and all that she has done to teach you. Was there a technique that she used in raising you that you could implement in your future classroom?

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Great post! My Mom is really good at making me and my siblings feel like she didn’t have favorites and loved all of us. I’m still trying to figure out quite how she did that, but I think it had to do with having a strong individual relationship with each one of us. That’s something I want to have in my classroom–a good relationship with each student so they each feel valued and motivated.

  2. Thanks for your comment. That is so true. I feel like my mom did that as well. That would be an excellent thing to do in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

