Posted in Miscellaneous

What I’ll Miss Most About Freshman Year

I just wrapped up my freshman year at BYU, which is kind of bittersweet. I have absolutely loved my freshman year and looking back, I have learned so much–not just in class, but from living on my own. I have decided that there are some things that I am really going to miss. Here are a few:

1. Living on campus: I loved being so close to all of my classes and having the luxuries of on-campus housing.
2. Living close to so many students my age: This is the last year that I will be the same age as the students that I live with. In addition, I went to a high school where 5 out of 2,500 students were LDS, so living close to so many students that share my standards was wonderfully new to me!
3. All of the Resident Hall Association events: The RHA put on “After-Hours” events every month that were held after visiting hours (when members of the opposite sex were allowed in our rooms for two hours twice a week) in the dorms. They were fun! They were held in the Cannon Center and there was food and games. They also held an Enda-Semesta-Palooza in the Smith Fieldhouse the week before finals. There was an inflatable obstacle course, volleyball, a dance, snowcones, and more! These are only a few of the fun events that RHA put on that made my freshman year so fun.
4. Having a Resident Assistant that cared: I had an adorable RA that helped to make my freshman year great. She informed us about upcoming deadlines and events. She also decorated our hall and made it very inviting.
5. The Cannon Center: It was so nice not having to worry about making meals after a long day of class, or at all really. It was so convenient. Plus, every meal was like a social event where we got to see friends and take a break from studying. It was also nice that we didn’t have the chore of cleaning a kitchen.

These are just a few of the things that I have enjoyed as a freshman and that I will miss in the coming years. Goodbye freshman year…hello sophomore year!

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

