Posted in Miscellaneous

The Power of Gratitude

Just this past week I read an article for my Living Prophets class titled, “Education for Real Life”, by President Henry B. Eyring. There was one part of his talk that I especially enjoyed. He said, “When the real value of service becomes clear in the judgment of God, some people who worked in quiet anonymity will be the real heroes. Many of them, perhaps most of them, will be the underpaid and underrecognized people who nurtured others. I never visit an elementary school and watch the teachers without thinking about that future day when the rewards will be eternal. I never visit a hospital and watch those who nurse and those who clean without thinking of that. I never visit a workplace where someone serves me and others well, earning wages barely enough to provide the necessities for a family, without thinking of the future. And I never see a mother juggling three little children who are crying while she is smiling, as she shepherds them gently, without seeing in my mind’s eye that day of honor in the presence of the only Judge whose praise will finally matter”.
Although, according to President Eyring’s words, teachers will be praised in heaven, it’s never too late to be grateful and thank those teachers that have helped us get where we are today. In an Ensign article by Vaughn E. Worthen, Associate Director, Counseling and Career Center at BYU, he answers the question “What is Gratitiude?”. He said, Gratitude is a positive experience that comes from recognizing gifts or blessings and feeling thankful. It is also an attitude, a way of perceiving life, in which individuals are willing to receive and acknowledge the beneficial actions of others on their behalf. Those who consistently display such an attitude are said to have a grateful disposition. Gratitude is also a habit that can be cultivated, causing one to focus on the blessings of life. Finally, gratitude can be defined as a coping response to challenging or difficult circumstances.- Gratitude can have a profound effect on perspective, completely determining or altering the way we look at an experience.”

Through being a teacher, I cannot imagine that one receives much gratitude. I just recently sent one of my elementary school teachers who had a great impact on my life a thank you card. I let her know the wonderful example that she was and is to me and how I am following in her footsteps. I told her about the fun things that I remember from her classroom and fun ways that she taught us. When I think about the impact that my teacher had on my life, it is so great! I am truly grateful for her.

I doubt that many teachers hear “thank you” very often and I don’t think they can hear it too much! I encourage you to take the opportunity to thank a teacher that has positively influenced your life.
Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

