Posted in Miscellaneous

The Advantages of Talking with Your Professors

Before coming to BYU, a friend of mine who already graduated from BYU, was telling me things that he learned during his time at BYU. One of the things he learned was that it is very advantageous to talk with your professors. At the time, I didn’t think much of it and figured if I were in a situation where I needed to speak with a professor that I would—no problem! Well, then I got to BYU and things got a little more intimidating. I didn’t really have the courage to talk to my professors, especially when I was in a class with 600 other students. Since then, I have gained a little more confidence and it has really paid off! Here are two of my experiences…

In my biology class last semester, I was struggling with the material and realized that I should probably meet with my professor. At first, I was very nervous. I figured that my professor had plenty of other things to do and the last thing he would want to do was meet with me. I thought that he would be really stingy and strict about points in the class and the effort that I was putting into the class. I finally decided to go see him and it made all the difference! He was totally willing to help me out. He saw the great potential that I had to do really well in his class. I am so glad that I chose to go see him. That one meeting with my professor helped me throughout the rest of the semester. After I had met with him, I wished that I had done so much earlier!

This semester, I am taking Religion C 333: Living Prophets with Brent Top. It is an awesome class! I recently had an experience where I was able to reflect on the many things that we have learned in my religion class so far. I decided to share this experience with my professor and he was so excited! He loved seeing a student using the information that he taught in class.

I think that if we have these influential experiences that it is absolutely beneficial to share them. It gives the professor great feedback and makes both individuals more excited about the course material. I would highly recommend sharing these meaningful moments with your professors, when appropriate. Have you had any similar experiences? Was it beneficial to see your professor? What did you learn from doing so? I would love to hear!

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

