Posted in Miscellaneous

Finding Balance in a Sometimes Chaotic Life

Finding balance has been one of the hardest things for me to do in this new college environment. Think about all the things students have to juggle: school work, church callings, a social life, eating, staying physically fit, working, and did I mention sleeping? It’s not easy!

Planning is one thing that has helped me to balance everything that I have to accomplish in a day. I don’t know what I would have done without my BYU planner this semester. As I pencil in daily plans, it helps me to organize when I am going to get what done and remember all of the places I need to be and things that I need to do.

Setting goals is another thing that helps me to balance the various aspects of college life. For example, if one of my goals is to exercise once a day, then I write it down and make a personal commitment to follow through with it. This way I am better able to plan out each day and make plans around my priorities. Also, make your goals attainable. This past semester, I made the mistake of making my expectations and goals a little too high, so I am going to learn from that and making this coming semester’s goals more achievable. For example, one of your goals could be to get all A’s. This sounds like a great goal, but you might be taking a heavy course load and that might not be very realistic. Therefore, you could be more specific by making a goal for your grade in each individual class. Maybe it’s your goal to get A’s in Book of Mormon, Social Dance, and Human Development, but it’s your goal to get B’s in American Heritage and Biology. That is an example of making a broad and unrealistic goal into an achievable goal.

There are so many ways that I can improve from last semester and I am feeling really motivated to change and be better this new semester. It’s the new year, 2012, a time to start fresh and a perfect time for those new year’s resolutions!

One more tip that I wanted to share would be to share some of your goals with a roommate, family member, or friend. That way you are more committed and accountable for your improvement. That being said, I’m telling you all about my commitment to improve. I’ll have to let you know how it goes! Follow up with me! Get ready for a great semester! Remember, YOU control your success! Good luck and if you have any tips that have helped you to stay balanced, set goals, and use your time efficiently, comment and let me know! I would love to hear!

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

