Posted in Miscellaneous

A Reflection on my First Semester of College

Hello again! I hope you all had a wonderful fall semester and a relaxing Christmas break!

It’s hard for me to believe that I am already done with my first semester of college. After 13 years in public school, I am finally living my dream of being at BYU! Not only that, but I made it through a whole semester away from my family independently! I thought I would give you my opinion of the classes I took last semester.

I took Human Development (SFL 210) from Dr. Laura Walker. This class was a hard one to leave at the end of the semester. Dr. Walker was knowledgeable about the topic, and it gave students a chance to reflect on their own personalities and actions based on what they learn. This class fulfills the general education requirement for social science, and a required class for the elementary and early childhood education majors. Tips: start on the papers early, and get help on said papers from the TAs.

I also took Biology 100 from Dr. Gary Booth. One thing that I did enjoy was that we were required to participate in a service project, which is how I discovered adaptive aquatics. This class fulfilled my GE requirement for biological science. I am done with science! Tips: study the notes , be prepared for quizzes, and start early on the research paper. And make sure to get help from the TA’s.

One of my favorite classes was American Sign Language (ASL 101). I always wanted to take ASL, so I jumped at the opportunity to take it at BYU. My class was two days a week, 1 hour and 40 minutes per class, so sometimes it seemed to drag on. Tips: make sure to get your cultural activities and labs in. The lab gets crowded closer to the end of the year.

I also enjoyed my Book of Mormon class with Brother Byron Merrill. He definitely knew his stuff. One part that was hard, however, is that at the beginning of the year, he asked us to read the first half of the Book of Mormon in two weeks.  He has really good stories and a good sense of humor. Tips: use the study guide to study for the tests, and keep up on your Book of Mormon reading!

Social Dance was a fun elective to take. Even though I am not the most coordinated person on earth, it was fun to learn how to fancy dance. Tips: make friends with the guys in your class so that you will have a partner for the tests. And remember to smile–all the time!

Last but not least, I took Art for El Ed majors (VAEdu 326) from Jethro Gillespie. This was a fun class, and it fulfilled part of my Arts and Letters requirement. I loved learning about how to incorporate art into the classroom. Tips: Get started on your lesson plans and art projects early. Enjoy making  your art, even if it doesn’t turn out the way you would like.

All in all, it was a great semester and I enjoyed every class. It was so sad to be done with them! I am looking forward to my classes this semester, though, and all the years as an elementary ed major ahead of me! If you have any further questions about these classes, comment and I will get back to you ASAP!

Leave a Reply

