Posted in Miscellaneous

The Shock of Not Getting the Grades that You Got in High School

Grades just came out. Some of us are happy and some… not so much. Regardless, it’s a new year, a new semester, and we get to start fresh. It’s a great opportunity to assess last semester and to see how we can each improve.

I was a good student in high school. I worked really hard to get good grades. Here at BYU, I am working that hard, if not harder, and I am not seeing the same results as I did in high school. In talking to friends and other students, I learned I am not the only one that got higher grades in high school than they are in college and it is hard to not see hard work pay off. However, there are certainly many people in my corner. Parents, friends, church leaders, professors, and teaching assistants are all ready and eager to help me to make sure I succeed. This gives me hope.

Getting into BYU was academically challenging. Each student had to earn good grades in high school and now, as we are studying among lots of great students, we must be challenged in order to succeed and set ourselves apart. In reading the BYU mission statement, it says, “Students who graduate from BYU should be capable of competing with the best in their fields.” Teacher candidates are being prepared to go out into the world and do great things! Parents and administrators will depend on us as teachers to educate the minds of young students. We will be expected to teach will creative methods and to shape future policy of education.

In talking with other students here at BYU, I know that I am not the only one who is shocked that the grades they are getting in college are not nearly as high as those they got in high school. Some students that I have talked to have gone from acing all of their honors and AP classes in high school to struggling to get an A or even a B in their regular college classes. Others are getting close to the same grades that they got in high school, but are having to work twice as hard for the same result. Just remember that all your hard work will pay off in the end when you have the opportunity to teach young children and make a difference.

How do you feel about grades in college compared to high school and the shock (or lack of it) that you felt in coming to college?

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

2 thoughts on “The Shock of Not Getting the Grades that You Got in High School

  1. As a freshman, I felt like a lot more work was placed on my shoulders than in high school. I got my first B last semester because I didn’t take responsibility for some of the work I was supposed to do! Thanks for helping me feel hope and like I am not the only one.

Leave a Reply

