Posted in Miscellaneous

One Word: Worthwhile

I think the word “worthwhile” is such an important word. Making the things you do worthwhile is such a great goal. I am going to share some examples of things in my own life that I have found worthwhile.Most recently, I submitted an assignment for my Family History class in which we were required to interview an ancestor, record the interview, transcribe the interview, write a life story for that ancestor, collect copies of original documents related to their life, and collect pictures of them. It was a difficult project and it took a lot of time, but I would use the word worthwhile to describe this assignment. I didn’t have a lot of time to complete this project and finishing it was definitely stressful, but it was so incredibly worthwhile. The best part was that I had the opportunity to talk to my Grandpa and learn things about his life that I probably wouldn’t have found out otherwise. I felt great as I was working on it and I didn’t feel like I was wasting time. I have been away from my home in Ohio for 111 days. It hasn’t been easy. I know that when I go home at the end of this semester that I am going to make my time with my family WORTHWHILE.In addition, I went to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving this year. I didn’t do much homework over Thanksgiving break, but the time that I spent with my friend and her family was WORTHWHILE because I came back to school rejuvenated and ready to complete the semester.In my Child Development class, we had a lecture on “School.” It included topics such as public vs. private schools, characteristics of a quality teacher, early schooling, etc. I was sitting next to a friend who is also majoring in elementary education. When the lecture was over, she turned to me and said, “Aren’t you excited to be an underpaid, under-appreciated teacher?” I honestly answered, “Yes!” I know being a teacher will be hard. I know that students won’t always listen. I know interacting with the parents of the students won’t always be easy. I know that one way to teach a child might not work for the rest of the students. I know it’s not the best paying job. But I know that I will love it! I love to teach, I love children, and I am so excited to make a difference in a child’s life. It will be so WORTHWHILE.

Jeffrey R. Holland said, “To teach effectively and to feel you are succeeding is demanding work indeed. But it is worth it. We can receive ‘no greater call.’” I love this quote by Elder Holland. Teaching is so worth it. The children we will teach are of such great worth. Have you had any experiences that helped you realize that your job as a teacher will be worthwhile? What are some things that you will do to remind yourself of that when things get tough?

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

