Posted in Miscellaneous

The Effect of a Good Teacher

David O. McKay once shared, “In God’s great garden have been placed overseers called teachers, and they are asked to nourish and to inspire God’s children.” Throughout my early elementary school years, I had two teachers who both nourished and inspired me. My third grade teacher, Mrs. Kelly, was very inventive in her teaching strategies. She taught my class to learn the multiplication factors through song. She taught us about the pioneers by having us write a short story about life as a pioneer and taking our picture in our log cabin classroom. She would read us “Stories with a Hole”, little riddles that taught us to think creatively and out of the box. Mrs. Kelly taught us to serve one another. Every week, she would choose a student in our class to receive the B.U.G. Award, or the Being Unusually Good Award. Mrs. Kelly did many things that made learning and interacting in the classroom fun!

Here’s my pioneer short story that Mrs. Kelly bound into books for each student…

Mrs. Weers, my fourth grade teacher, was another influential teacher in my elementary school years. Mrs. Weers had my class participate in many activities that brought our class together like a big family. For example, Mrs. Weers had my class sit in desks that were organized into “teams”. As we worked together and were kind to one another, we earned points. At the end of the quarter, there would be a reward for the team with the most points. Stars were the overall theme of Mrs. Weers’ classroom. The points that each team earned were represented by stars. For Christmas, Mrs. Weers made each of her students a star ornament. Then, at the end of the year, she gave us a star frame with a picture of her with each student, individually, and included a poem about stars on the back. She brought out the inner star in each one of her students. Mrs. Weers taught me the importance of working as a team, but she also taught me how important each person on the team is.

Each student in my class made a folder of “Snapshots of 4th Grade” that held memories from that year…

In my folder, here was my response to what I want to be when I grow up…

As a future teacher, I plan on using some of these strategies in my own classroom. I want my students to learn good values as they are a part of my class and I want those values to be built into activities that we do on a daily basis. I love how Mrs. Weers used this strategy with teamwork. I would like my classroom to be a place where everyone fits in and where there is plenty of participation and interaction within learning. I want to have a small bulletin board for a weekly spotlight of each child in the class. I want to make the classroom more than just sitting down learning. It’ll be hands-on. I would like to make learning fun and enjoyable. I love how Mrs. Kelly helped us learn multiplication factors through song. That was so effective for me, as a student, that I still remember the songs that she taught us! Those songs might not have helped every student in my class, though. I cannot wait to learn here at BYU how to use different teaching strategies to reach out to different students because I recognize that not all kids learn the same way. I hope that through the things I learn at BYU that I will be able to be an effective teacher and influence each child that will walk through my classroom door.

Through effective examples I have seen in my own elementary school teachers, I’ve learned that one good teacher can have a huge effect on a student, whether it be brightening a child’s day, helping them learn to read, or even just smiling at them. In my case, these teachers helped me realize that I want to be a teacher too! Was there a teacher that left a profound impact on your life early on? What did they do that left such an impression? Are there techniques that those teachers used that you plan on using in your own classroom?

Author:

I am student at Brigham Young University with a major in Elementary Education. I am from Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

