Posted in Elementary Education Preparation, Introductions

Incredible Me

Hello! As you can see from the title, I am incredible. Why? Because I’m me. Well, you may be asking, “Who are you?” I’m Allison, a senior at Brigham Young University majoring in Elementary Education with a minor in TESOL K-12 (Teaching English to Students Of Second Languages). This fall I will be doing my internship/first year teaching at Mapleton Elementary in Mapleton, UT, which is part of the Nebo District. I will be an official Mapleton Mountaineer.  This adventure is going to be one of the most exciting, challenging adventures of my life, even though bungee jumping in New Zealand comes in at a close second!

Yes, I was able to jump off a 43 meter bridge in New Zealand in the beautiful city of Queenstown. Even though that was super exciting, the best part was being able to teach five- to seven-year-old (first and second grade) students  in a local primary school in Auckland. As part of the education program I had the incredible opportunity to do my second cohort (teaching experience as part of the elementary education program) abroad…and yes, do some amazing traveling in the beautiful country of New Zealand. I loved that I was able to miss winter in Utah and get two summers this year of 2011. Overall, the best lesson I learned in New Zealand was to live with faith and let life be Kai Pai—”everything is good.”

Now that I am back in Happy Valley, I am enjoying the sun, running daily (I just finished my 3rd half-marathon June 25th), finishing up my TESOL minor with a practicum experience at Park Elementary, setting up my classroom, gathering supplies for the upcoming school year, and spending time with the people I love most.  For the past three weeks (with four more to go) I’ve been teaching small groups of sixth graders four hours a day, four days a week, and loving every minute of it. I never realized how fun it is to laugh and joke with preteens/tweenagers.

My purpose in writing for this blog is to inform and inspire you—prospective teachers, teachers, alumni, and other students—to be the best person you can be as you decide about the path you are going to take. I’ll write about everything from changes in the Elementary Education program (what that means for students who are just entering the program or who just entered last semester but must follow the changes), to how to rock it on those first days of school based on the book “The First Days of School” by Harry Wong, to important dates and deadlines for Elementary Education students. It’s going to be a great summer, and I am so excited to start this blog and share with you my experience as a teacher 🙂

4 thoughts on “Incredible Me

  1. That’s very exciting! I was also an intern at Mapleton Elementary and would love to offer any advice or assistance if you’d like!

  2. Thanks so much for commenting Ashley! I do have some questions about how best to set up my classroom and curriculum. What grade did you teach? Are you still teaching at Mapleton? Also, just wondering, do you blog?

  3. It is wonderful to see a young person so passionate about teaching. It has been my dream job for nearly 30 years ( 21 of those years have been spent teaching kindergarten).The last four years I have been teaching an extended day kindergarten in West Valley City. The first year (of extended day kindergarten) after the pre-assessments, DIBELS (a reading inventory test) and the ELL screening were finished, I sat down to look at my students scores. I was dismayed at how low their test scores were. Not only did they not have basic academic skills in English, but they lacked those same skills in their native languages. Further,with the exception of one or two children, I was the only person who spoke English in the class. I took a deep breath, said a prayer, and we began at the very beginning. At the end of the year nearly all my students passed the tests with flying colors, as they have every year since then. Recently, someone asked me, How do you do it? I had to stop and think, how do I do it? Now this is the important part, I do it-ONE DAY AT A TIME. As you start to work with your students don’t focus as much on their weaknesses as on their abilities. Believe in them, tell them how smart they are and go for it. Take things one day at a time and celebrate every victory. Be the cheerleader for the kids in your class. Good luck, I be following your blog with interest.

    1. Thank you so much for your comment and advice. I am a person who thinks that she has to get everything done at once and I layer up my plate far too high, so I really appreciate your comment. I do need to remember the students are the most important and they deserve me to be that cheerleader and to look at their accomplishments and not their weaknesses. I’m so glad that with your help and guidance your students were able to pass their tests with flying colors, and they had fun while learning too. Everyday I will think, “These kids are smart and worth it.” Thank you for all your support. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

